BBB – biking benelux borders

My biking genes were playing havoc again, or, admittedly, they always do. For the bigger adventures I had grounded myself, due to an ablated retina and 3 eye surgeries over the last 6 months. Though l still suffer blurred vision in one eye, the future looks bright however and I felt I could embark on a new biketrip. All my bikes were in working order,so I could start planning. I did not want to stretch trip and travel too far, so I came up with the Benelux border bike trip.

You may call it triple B😊

As such the trip was not biked before – as far as I know – so I could make my own rules. Good to have them, so you know when you stretch them…

Writing this blog I am in my second day already. Left my house Monday morning by 8, heading for Aachen. I delayed myself a day as I decided last minute – after a service overhaul of my ‘Red Camel’ ( formerly known as Superstrata)- to use this bike. It is lighter and after service ran very light, though less comfortable and also limited on the luggage to take. I had to repack – doing away with half of my luggage and prepare the Camel for long range bike packing.

A passing biker in Aachen noticed my unusual bike: Geiles Rad!

After Aachen it was up into the Ardennes mountains (rather hills) as the higest elevation is only some 600 or 700 meters. Once up, I joined the Vennbahn, a former railroad track transformed into a bikepath. Remains of the former history are abundant.

Initially you are closely following the German/Belgium border, before entering Belgium, into St Vith.

When I hopped over to Germany, it became a rainy afternoon. As I was biking a ‘Landesstrasse’ I made sure traffic would see me with a fluorescent jacket and a helmet with built in strobe lights. Works well, I got all the space – and more – ftom passing cars. Passed quite a few villages which were situated in the valleys, looking like ditches, which made me go down way too fast: all red alarm lights and speed indicators along the road were telling me to slow down – and I was only riding a bike!

For Vianden, my final destination, I had to turn onto a country road, which made me wonder. . But after 160k you believe anything Google Maps will tell you. Passing the border was a breeze😊

I was not done yet as the fun had still to come: a sensational and tricky downhill ride on a wet road into Vianden. That’s what they call ‘going out with a bang’!

Stayed overnight in an auberge next to the river Our with the castle high up. I was finished by 2200.

Next day on to Echternach, Schengen and beyond. After yesterday, it had to be an easy day! I followed the Our and Sure rivers, may be they are one, which is still unclear to me. Great bikepaths and very light traffic.

At Echternach it was up the hills again. I assure you, a 3 kilometer 7 degree climb wears you out. On top I noticed my navigation planned to go all along motorways, whilst I wanted to ride the Mosel banks. Opted for Googles cross country offer and it did not disappoint. I was led through fields, a wood, more fields and all was dead quiet. Amazing, Luxemburg to myself.

The road along the Mosel banks is called the ‘route du vin’, for a reason. Huge wineyards, also on the German banks, the Mosel river – coming from the Vosges in France – also functions as border with Germany.

In the very south of Luxemburg, next to the French and German border is Schengen. Famous for its European treaty, but I can’t think of anything else that makes the city worth while… But now it is the most southern point of my trip,

Early enough to add a bit more mileage to my today’s trip, I continued for Monsdorf. Found a great hotel with a superb restaurant where I had my grenouilles.

Q

16 thoughts on “BBB – biking benelux borders

  1. O wauw, weer op de fiets. Heel veel plezier en mocht je op de terugreis voorne putten aandoen. Laat het ons weten. Wie weet staan we langs je route om je aan te moedigen of zitten we klaar voor koek en zopie

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Wat leuk, koek en zopie zijn geregeld, evenals een slaapplek.
        Te gek, we kijken uit naar een mooie gezellige tussenstop om uitgerust weer de volgende dag de reis voor te zetten. Zie je morgen. Leuk!

        Like

  2. Leuk om weer met je mee te lezen/reizen Ed. Mooie herinneringen aan een vakantie in Luxemburg komen weer boven (ik was toen nog een jochie van een jaar of 10). Goede reis gewenst!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. beste Ed,

    wat fijn voor je dat je weer een begin hebt kunnen maken aan je fietshobby en zo te leen en te zien is het weer een mooie rit geworden. Op sommige stukken heb ik vroeger toen ik ongeveer 20 was ook gefiets, maar dan op een gewone fiets zonder versnellingen en uiteraard zonder google e.d.en het was dan vaak een verrassing waar je uitkwam. Uiteraard maakten we minder kilometers per dag, maar toch wel gauw 50 km mede afhankelijk hoeveel er geklommen moest worden. Ik kan er nu nog met plezier aan terugdenken.

    Like

  4. heel leuk om s,morgens wakker te worden met een interessant verhaal van jou en weer met mooie plaatjes, fijne rit verder!

    Like

Leave a comment